Accreditation Standards & Dimensions for IEN Bridging Programs

Quality Standards

The CASN Accreditation Program for Internationally Educated Nurses (IEN) is guided by core values and fundamental principles. Its Standards applies to new and existing programs. Check out the complete Accreditation Standards for IEN Bridging Programs on our website: The standards represent the quality expectations for IEN-BPs and are stated broadly. The IEN Accreditation Program has seven standards.

  1. Standard I – IEN Learner
    • The program builds on IEN learners’ prior knowledge and experience to position them for entry into practice in the Canadian context.
  2. Standard II – Partnerships/ Relationships
    • Collaborative partnerships/relationships with relevant stakeholder groups support the mission and goals of the program and the needs of IEN learners.
  3. Standard III – Teaching and Learning
    • The program facilitates learning among a diverse group of IEN learners in a culturally safe learning environment.
  4. Standard IV – Resources
    • The program is appropriately resourced.
  5. Standard V – Communication
    • The program provides clear, accurate, comprehensive, and accessible program information.
  6. Standard VI – Program Outcomes
    • The program has established and implements an evaluation framework for continuous quality improvement.
  7. Standard VII – Program Evaluation
    • The program prepares IENs for successful integration into the Canadian health care system’s nursing workforce.

Quality Dimensions

Four overarching quality dimensions guided the development of the IEN-BP Accreditation Program standards and are infused throughout program:

  1. Standards, Descriptors, Key Elements, Interpretations Relevance: The structure, processes, and constituents of the bridging program are pertinent, appropriate, and responsive to the current and emerging needs of the health care system, the profession, and the IEN learners in the program.
  2. Accountability: The bridging program takes responsibility and is answerable for all its relationships and actions, and it fosters the integration of the importance of taking responsibility for safe, ethical, and legal professional practice among its IEN learners.
  3. Relatedness: There is an inter-connectedness of all components of the bridging program that promotes achievements of goals.
  4. Uniqueness: While the structure, processes, and constituents of the bridging program meet standards of excellence, they embody a unique character reflective of its context and are responsive to the uniqueness of the IEN learner.

Download the Accreditation Standards for IEN Bridging Programs